What is the difference between a brazilian wax vs. a bikini wax?

22 Feb

One of my specialties in my line of work is doing brazilian and bikini waxes. I know it may sound strange, but I much prefer waxing the bikini area versus doing eyebrows. Most Estheticians have the opposite sentiment, but I am one of the few that enjoys giving one (and it is DEFINITELY NOT SEXUAL). I often get asked what is the difference between a bikini and brazilian wax.  I will explain to those of you who have never experienced one and are curious, but too shy to ask.

Bikini wax. Basically, there are two types of bikini waxes.

The first is what I call the “Classic” bikini. Which means that I wax from where the leg creases, where the hip and leg join, to the upper mid-thigh (if needed), and the inner thigh. I do not go beyond the crease (meaning going towards the vagina), but I may take a little off of the top if requested.

The second type of bikini wax is the “Extended” bikini. The amount of hair taken off for an “Extended” bikni is a lot more vague compared to the “Classic”. The amount taken off is based on the client’s preference. It could range from just taking a little hair off from the sides and top, to almost a brazilian where there is a little landing strip, but still hair on the inner lips of the vagina.

Brazilian wax

*I just have one disclaimer and that is I do not know who invented the brazilian wax, but I will explain to you what I do.*

The biggest difference between a brazilian and a bikini wax is that with brazilians the inner lips of the vagina are waxed, as well as the “back end” aka in between the butt cheeks.

Some women will prefer to either leave a landing strip (which is rectangular in shape), an upside down triangle, or have EVERYTHING taken off (some call it the pre-pubescent look). Most Estheticians will also do customized shapes upon request, but in my own personal experience I very seldom get asked to do it.

Please feel free to contact me if you’ve got any other questions. For those of you who are interested in getting a bikini or brazilian with me, please mention that you read this article and I will give you 15% off on your next visit. To make an appointment you can book online at http://www.ariaskinandbody.com or call me at 415.250.5340.

3 Responses to “What is the difference between a brazilian wax vs. a bikini wax?”

  1. Mr WordPress February 22, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. gracecamille July 25, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    I’ve never been waxed “down under” before, and a Brazilian wax is what I’d like. However, is it not a good idea for my first time? And how much should I let my hair grow out first?

    • thyphamdesogos July 26, 2013 at 10:44 am #

      Sure, it’s a good idea to do it for your first time! Just make sure you go to someone who is experienced. Also, just know that it will be painful, mostly because you don’t know what to expect. I always say it’s like delivering a baby. You know it’s going to hurt, but you don’t have any idea how painful it is until it happens. After the first time, it should hurt less. Don’t be scared, the pain is temporary! You can take a pain reliever beforehand, it may help.

      Your hair should be at least 1/4 of an inch long in order to have a successful wax.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

